Dear	

Thank you for your interest and intention to attend our Conference

# **International Conference on Modern Problems of Mechanics and Mathematics,**

dedicated to 80-th birth anniversary of
Yaroslav Stepanovych Pidstryhach,
Academician of NASU and
30-anniversary of the Institute for Applied
Problems of Mechanics and Mathematics NASU,
founded by him.

On May 25 – 29, 2008 the International Conference on Modern Problems of Mechanics and Mathematics will be held in L'viv on the basis of Pidstryhach Institute for Applied Problems of Mechanics and Mathematics and Franko National University of L'viv.

Discussing modern achievements in the field of mechanics and mathematics, in particular, related closely to the research activities of *Ya.S. Pidstryhach*, makes the objective of the Conference.

It is expected that over 400 scientists actively working in different branches of mechanics and mathematics, will participate in the Conference.

The Conference starts its work on May 25, 2008, the day when 80 years passes since the birth of *Yaroslav Stepanovych Pidstryhach*, a prominent scientist in the branch of mechanics of deformable bodies, State prize winner and Honored Scientist of Ukraine, Academician of NASU.

He devoted his life to science and his name will always be associated with achievements in thermodynamics of non-equilibrium processes, thermomechanics, mechanothermodiffusion, magnetothermomechanics of electroconducting bodies, hydroacoustics, mechanics and bodies with coatings and surface phenomena and other directions of modern mechanics.



Ya.S. Pidstryhach worked also on the urgent mathematical problems of mechanics, applied mathematics and other overlapping sciences. He sought for new forms of collaboration between science and industry.

### **Program Committee**

Co-chairmen:

V.V. Panasiuk (Ukraine), A.M. Samoilenko (Ukraine))

Vice- chairmen:

H.S. Kit (Ukraine), B.Yo. Ptashnyk. (Ukraine)

Scientific secretaries:

V.O. Pelykh (Ukraine), V.S. Popovych (Ukraine)

#### Program Committee members:

S.O. Ambartsumian (Armenia), O.E. Andrevkiv (Ukraine),

V.E. Berbiuk (Sweden), V.I. Bernik (Byelorus'),

M.M. Bogolubov (Russia), A. Boström (Sweden),

V.V. Bozhydarnyk (Ukraine), Ya.Yo. Burak (Ukraine),

E.Ya. Chaplia (Ukraine), Yu.A. Dubinskii (Russia),

A.P. Dziuba (Ukraine), M.R. Eslami (Iran),

I.I. Fedyk. (Russia), L.A. Fil'shtyns'kii (Ukraine),

E.V. Glushkov (Russia), O.M. Gudz' (Ukraine),

O.R. Hachkevych (Ukraine), M.L. Horbachuk (Ukraine),

L.P. Horoshun (Ukraine), O.Ya. Hryhorenko (Ukraine),

Ya.M. Hryhorenko (Ukraine), D.V. Hrylitskii (Ukraine),

V.T. Hrinchenko (Ukraine), E.Ya. Hruslov (Ukraine),

V.S. Hudramovych (Ukraine), S.D. Ivasyshen (Ukraine),

P.I. Kaleniuk (Ukraine), S.O. Kaloyerov (Ukraine),

A.O. Kaminskii (Ukraine), V.H. Karnaukhov (Ukraine),

V.S. Koroliuk (Ukraine), O.M. Kovaliov (Ukraine),

V.A. Krys'ko (Russia), V.D. Kubenko (Ukraine),

Ya. Kubik (Poland), L.V. Kurpa (Ukraine),

R.M. Kushnir (Ukraine), L.M. Lobanov (Ukraine),

I.O. Lukovs'kii (Ukraine), Chien-Ching Ma (Taiwan),

E. Madenci (USA), V.L. Makarov (Ukraine),

S. Matysiak (Poland), V.V. Meleshko(Ukraine),

V.V. Mozharovs'kii (Byelorus'), O.K. Morachkovs'kii (Ukraine),

Z.T. Nazarchuk (Ukraine), Yu.V. Nemyrovskii (Russia),

Yu.I. Niashyn (Russia), O.H. Nikolaev (Ukraine),

V.A. Osadchuk (Ukraine), M.O. Perestiuk (Ukraine),

V.Ya. Pidstryhach (Germany), B.E. Pobedria (Russia),

V.H. Popov (Ukraine), H.Ya. Popov (Ukraine),

Ya.Ya.Rushchyts'kii (Ukraine), M.P. Savruk (Ukraine),

Ya.H. Savula (Ukraine), V.S. Sarkisian (Armenia),

A. Severyn (Polska), I.T.Selezov (Ukraine),

V.V. Sharko (Ukraine), V.P. Shevchenko (Ukraine),

Yu.M. Shevchenko (Ukraine), O.M. Shul'ga (Ukraine),

J. Sladek (Slovakia), V.I. Storozhev (Ukraine),

H.T. Sulym (Ukraine), D.V. Tarlakovskii (Russia),

A.F. Ulitko (Ukraine), G. van Heijst (the Netherlands),

N.O. Virchenko (Ukraine), M.M. Voitovich (Ukraine),

P.V. Yasnii (Ukraine), M.M. Zarichnyi (Ukraine),

Zhang Chuanzeng (Germany), Zhao Ya-Pu (China).

### **Organizing Committee**

H.S. Kit, R.M. Kushnir, B.Yo. Ptashnyk (co-chairmen),

V.O. Pelykh, V.S. Popovych (vice-chairmen),

V.S. Pakosh, B.Z. Shavarovsky (scientific secretaries)

#### **Organizing Committee Address**

IC MPMNS 2008 Conference Office IAPMM, NASU Naukova 3-b, 79060 L'viv, Ukraine

**Tel.:** +38 (0322) 63-53-70, 63-90-33, 239-99-12, 239-99-87

Fax: +38 (0322) 63-62-70

E-mail: conference@iapmm.lviv.ua confmath@iapmm.lviv.ua

Web: <a href="http://www.iapmm.lviv.ua">http://www.iapmm.lviv.ua</a>

To participate in the Conference and be published in the Proceedings it is necessary to:

March 31, 2008 – Send the Abstract at the Organizing Committee Address.

April 25, 2008 – Transfer the fee using bank: Prominvestbank of Ukraine through the bank-correspondent Deutsche Bank Trust Company Americas, New York, account number 04182382, Bank Code SWIFT: BKTRUS33 to be included in the account number 26002301416525 (840) (USD) of the branch

"Zaliznychny department of Prominvestbank, Ukraine, L'viv", MFO 325633 (Lystopadovoho Chynu Str., 8, L'viv, 79007, Ukraine) for IAPMM, NASU. The organizing fee (200 EUR) for each participant with postscript "Organizing fee (family name, first name) for participation in IC MPMNS 2008". Send, please, to the Organizing Committee Address a copy of the pay-sheet or a receipt of the mail transfer with the first name of the Conference participant.

The organizing fee covers registration, Conference Program, and Proceedings, social events, coffee breaks and reception.

The Conference Program will comprise plenary lectures (30 min), oral presentations (15 min) and poster sessions.

Information about including the report in the Conference Program, demands to its presentation and the Conference time-limit will be sent before **April 15, 2008.** 

The organizers offer accommodation in the hotels, which are recommended for the convenience of participants. The proposed hotels are:

"L'viv" (http://www.hotel.lviv.ua),

"Het'man" (http://www.inlviv.info/hotels/hotel hetman),

"Suputnyk"(http://www.suputnyk.com),

"Perlyna" (http://www.lviv-prestige-school.com.ua/hotel).

If you want to book a room in the hotel, please, inform the Organizing Committee by fax, phone or e-mail.

Department of Mathematics, NASU
Western Scientific Center
National Academy of Sciences, Ukraine
and Ministry of Education and Science, Ukraine

Pidstryhach Institute for Applied Problems
of Mechanics and Mathematics
Franko National University of L'viv
Ukrainian Society
of Materials Fracture Mechanics



## International Conference on Modern Problems of Mechanics and Mathematics

dedicated to 80-th birth anniversary of Yaroslav Stepanovych Pidstryhach,
Academician of NASU
and
30-anniversary of the Institute for
Applied Problems of Mechanics and
Mathematics, founded by him

May 25 – 29, 2008 L'viv, Ukraine

Second Announcement